Gaurav Julka

The Heart can Articulate. Enunciate. Speak.

Two Tragedies in life – George Bernard Shaw – One Tree Hill

with 2 comments


Pasted below is a quote once written by George Bernard Shaw along with it, quoted are six different perceptions of the same quote.

It’s amazing to see how at least one of these perceptions apply to you in real life at any given point of time or at any state/stage in life.

One of my favorite One Tree Hill literature…trust me, it’s not just a script it’s literature!


“There are two tragedies in life: one is to lose your heart’s desire, the other is to gain it.” — George Bernard Shaw

Brooke: “George Bernard Shaw once wrote; ‘There are two tragedies in life: one is to lose your heart’s desire, the other is to gain it.’ Clearly, Shaw had his heart broken once or twice.”

Nathan: “As far as I’m concerned, Shaw was a punk! ‘Cause you know what? Tragedies happen. What’re you gonna do, give up? Quit? No. I realize now that when your heart breaks, you gotta fight like hell to make sure you’re still alive. ‘Cause you are, and that pain you feel: it’s life. The confusion and fear.. that’s there to remind you that somewhere out there is something better. And that something is worth fighting for.”

Haley: “This year, I got everything I wanted and everything I wished for.. but, in a way, I lost even more.”

Lucas: “Shaw was right: as we strain to grasp the things we desire, the things we think will make our lives better: money, popularity, fame… we ignore what truly matters — the simple things: like friendship, family, love. The things we probably already had.”

Mouth: “So, Mr. Shaw thinks that getting your hearts desire is a tragedy? I say he’s wrong. I mean, clearly, Shaw never kissed Erica Marsh.”

Peyton: “Yeah, losing your heart’s desire is tragic. But gaining your heart’s desire… It’s all you can hope for. This year, I wished for love. To immerse myself in someone else and to wake a heart long afraid to feel. My wish was granted. And if having that is tragic… then give me tragedy. Because, I wouldn’t give it back for the world.”

Written by Gaurav Julka

April 3, 2012 at 6:42 PM

Posted in #Choices, Fortitude

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] George Bernard Shaw once wrote: There are two tragedies in life: one is to lose your heart’s desire, the other is to gain it.  Clearly, George knew failure & success are both milestones in our life, the tragedy occurs only in the way we look at it. [...]

  2. I watched this episode recently :)

    Preethi.

    May 1, 2013 at 3:03 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,737 other followers

