Gaurav Julka

The Heart can Articulate. Enunciate. Speak.

Faces. How to feel content in this world of Faces.

leave a comment »


We are many faces in one. We own some, we borrow some and the rest…I guess we steal. It is highly unfortunate that we are very sporadic at using them and most of the times its our lizard brain that control these faces. The quaint fact about these faces is that we, the humans are highly dependent on their usage and would not able to subsist in this harsh world if we don’t employ them. I think the art of achieving nirvana is none other than knowing who or what your true face is. But do we actually need to? Is it okay to not know who you really are? Is it okay to be someone or something because that is  exactly what makes you content? I am not seeking answers to these questions right now, I guess I am writing them down so that time can help me answer these.

Sometimes, In fact most of the times I can’t help but admire the beauty of our lizard-ness in life. Monday mornings before the meeting we are an ideal employee, who is professional, passionate, result-oriented, focused but not caring, emotional, loving, excited or delightful. Friday evenings we turn into an ionized electron, completely excited , passionate and fun-loving. With parents we are sometimes aggressive, argumentative but with the boss we are the best listener in the world. With kids we generally act kids but in front of college girls we are the party studs. How I wish we could be same all throughout and not be given an “unwanted” adjective in life.

The bittersweet symphony of  my life is that I think I can see through fake faces at the first go but I always want ‘to believe’ that I am wrong and that the person is different from who he seems to be or can improve, be better. But who am I deceiving & deluding? Humanity is not made of aluminum or copper, they are made of diamonds coated by titanium layers which sometimes (or mostly) to me is nothing more than pressurized carbon. In the act of saving myself from the tyranny of fake faces, I pretend to own one (may be many) myself. Its indeed is very intriguing that I am doing quite well at this art of possessing multiple faces in one. Sometimes when I reflect (which mostly I do everyday), I am startled by the peoples I have been and with the kind of peoples I could be. Sometimes (again mostly), I am kinda lost. Almost misplaced on my own coordinate system trying to locate my dimensions, my accurate position to revive, to be (even for few minutes) the person I really am or may be the person I could be. And most of the times I think, I do  it successfully. It is this precise successful moment, I feel home, I feel liberated sometimes even vindicated and generally give myself an awesome welcome.

This is exactly what I want to do for others. Make them realize, help them find or may be introduce to who they really are. The right face, the apt face…the face they should be proud of, just want them to feel content, the way feel sometimes. I know this face-finding is not amongst some elite career options that I have but this is how I want to be as a person and may be…just may be I can make some difference to certain lives living around me.

So if you are reading this, do yourself (and me)  a favor, Play an Enya song if you have to…

Take a look at yourself in a mirror who do you see looking back?
Is it the person you wanted to be?
or the person you were meant to be but fell short of?
Are you the same face with your friends and family? Can you even count your faces?
Who is it that you really are? who is it that you really want to be?

Find yourself & Be Content.

Written by Gaurav Julka

August 24, 2012 at 1:19 AM

Leave a Reply

