Gaurav Julka

The Heart can Articulate. Enunciate. Speak.

Writing done; No courage to post it yet.

leave a comment »


In the past few weeks I have been delineating a lot of short stories, character annotations, small write-ups about current events, categorized poetry and a lot of Epigrams; but if the truth be told, I have/had no courage to post any of those.

Regrettably, the topic of my write-ups are coinciding with a major uprising against Women abuse in India which I personally think is a positive step towards building a stronger India but unfortunately such uprisings are only incepted after major loses and shameful incidents. I am proud that the youth of India is finally raising their voice but also bereaved that this happened after 6Lakh+ rapes  in past 12 years.

As an Indian living abroad; I know I cannot really sit outside…talk and foreknow the country to change. I know I have to step in to contribute my bit. Crime Against Women/Women Abuse is not new scrape for/in India, it has been existing for a real long time now (decades, century, ages, eras…). I personally have had 3 real strong experiences during the past 3 years of my life. This is precisely why I wanted to write something on the lines of Contemporary literature about this issue. We (my co-author, sketch artist) started working on our content since the first week of November and we wanted to publish our little something by the end of this year.

We have decided not to do so; We will not be publishing any content during the coming few weeks as it would be an insult to the genuine uprising in India. We do not want our content to ride the ship of rage and anger nor do we want our content to be trending in the market. We want to communicate a simple message using art and literature and we will do it whenever it is really required.

India or Indians in general are passionate, enthusiastic like a soda bottle but unfortunately their fizz is really short lived; I am really not sure how long this battle against Women abuse would last. I hope it does till we have a solution but if it doesn’t, we will speak.

We apologize to both our prospective publishers; I hope they understand.

We have a Facebook page for our small project.  https://www.facebook.com/Contemporary.Cheerharan

Total_Rapes_Victims_01-10

On an average 50,000 rape cases are registered in India every year. Someone needs to do something about it.

We will be back soon. This is our ‘Will of Fire’.

Written by Gaurav Julka

December 26, 2012 at 10:56 AM

Leave a Reply

