Gaurav Julka

The Heart can Articulate. Enunciate. Speak.

The Critics & An Anthology.

with one comment


An Anthology of Contemprorary Cheerharan

She

Last night I posted a picture (above) with the poetry I wrote for An Anthology of Contemporary Cheerharan.  I kind of did it on purpose, I wanted to know the general perspective of people who had liked our Facebook page.  I wanted to know what they expect from us; what they think ‘we are doing’.

People reacted both positively and negatively to the same. Well, I am not sure if I am even in the capacity to define positive or negative yet but yes, people were supportive.

From the comments, I could figure that some people were condemning our initiative as if it was initiated to solve the upfront feminism issues of India, change laws of India, eradicate the problem of rape from India and educate India. I have no intention of doing any of that. Yes, I want people to read about the social issues, the hardship that Indian women face in a form of literature & art but knowing this, I also know I will not be able to solve or ‘eradicate’ this problem from our country.

When I was writing this poetry, I did not think of any of the elements that would bring about change…I was thinking about this 16 year old girl I met few years ago, stranded on Bandra station, destined to be a prostitute, lost, broken and helpless.  I could not solve her problem then, I cannot solve her problem now. But I know it would have not existed in the first place, only if she received the care she deserved in the first place. And such are my experiences that have led me to express my opinions in the form of literature.

Julian Dalbert once wrote:  “We are trying to attempt something that great poets and writers master. In our attempt; lies our satisfaction”

On the other hand, I am glad it produced four hours of engagement on the Facebook page.

It’s actually, very simple…I like writing and I feel for this social issue.  So rather than writing about a cheeky high school love story; I write about this.

Written by Gaurav Julka

February 5, 2013 at 8:35 PM

Posted in Fortitude, India, Women

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I get where you are coming from. But I do not agree that you can’t help her. You are helping her, in your attempt. Its a brilliant piece of work (your poem) and it’s out there in the open, engaging people, garnering a response. Try, and one day you will realise what her purpose of existence was- “I am not a victim, I am a cause.”

    Prachi Tyagi

    February 6, 2013 at 2:12 PM


Leave a Reply

